Are you an architecture student registered in a Canadian architecture program?

You could win a $5,000 scholarship by writing an essay explaining how a work of architecture can be transformative. 

Submission deadline: January 14, 2022, 11:59 p.m. EST

“The RAICF International Prize scholarships are given in conjunction with the RAIC International Prize on a bi-annual basis to students in Canadian Architectural Programs. The Scholarships are one of the important initiatives of the Foundation to support Canadian Students of Architecture who are passionate about the practice of architecture in general, and specifically about the underlying themes of the International Prize.”

– Stuart Howard, Board of Trustees Chair


The RAIC International Prize Scholarships are awarded in conjunction with the RAIC International Prize.

The RAIC International Prize Scholarships are open to students registered in a Canadian architecture program at any point in the period between the submission deadline for the previous cycle of the RAIC International Prize Scholarships and the submission deadline of the current cycle.

Up to three scholarships, each in the amount of CAD $5,000, will be awarded in 2022.

The award of the Scholarships will be based on submissions from individual students that address a defined topic in the form of an original essay in English or French, maximum 1,000 words in length, with illustrations that complement and clarify ideas explored in the text.

The essay topic for the 2022 RAIC International Prize Scholarships will address the objectives and criteria of the RAIC International Prize and is based on the following questions: 

The RAIC International Prize celebrates works of architecture that are judged to have been “transformative within their societal context”.

Please explain how a work of architecture can be transformative. Can you cite examples that demonstrate how the impact of a single building on a community can be seen as transformative? Is every good building transformative on some level?

Submissions will be evaluated on the applicant’s expression of vision and aspiration, and on the strength of personal conviction.

The jury members are:

  • Lisa Landrum, FRAIC, Jury Chair

  • Paul Fast, MRAIC

  • Odile Hénault 

  • Veronica Madonna, FRAIC

  • Obinna Ogunedo

  • Gilles Prud’homme, MIRAC

  • Patrick Stewart, MRAIC

  • David Covo, FRAIC, Professional Advisor

The deadline for submissions is January 14, 2022, 11:59 p.m. EST.

Please consult the Terms of Reference for submission details.

The scholarships will be presented at a gala in Vancouver in May, 2022.